up from the depths

Psalm 71:19-21
…Your righteousness, O God, is very high, You who have done great things; O God, who is like You? You, who have shown me great and severe troubles, shall revive me again, and bring me up again from the depths of the earth. You shall increase my greatness, and comfort me on every side.

While reading Spurgeon’s thoughts on verse 20, “He has shown me many heavy and severe trials, and He will also show me many precious mercies…” I was struck by the thought that the very troubles that God has ordained for me, though most heavy, and most severe, are often themselves the precious mercies, or revival, that the psalmist anticipates.

Prayer
Most wise and gracious Father, I thank You that “all things work together for good” when they are ordained by a loving and merciful God. When severe trials threaten to capsize my faith, I pray that Your Holy Spirit would remind me that You, far above the love and wisdom of earthly fathers, love me and wisely ordain my circumstances that I might even more depend upon You. Let me not forget, gracious Lord, that though I may not see Your good purpose behind a setback, obstacle, or seeming disaster, the Scriptures declare that Your plans are for my “welfare and not for calamity” and to give me “a future and a hope.” Through Christ, my Saviour, I pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

