a cup of wrath

Psalm 75:8, 10b
For in the hand of the Lord there is a cup,
And the wine is red;
It is fully mixed,
And He pours it out;
Surely its dregs shall all the wicked
of the earth drain
and drink down.
But the horns of the righteous shall be exalted.

Spurgeon, once again, amplifies the text in such a way that I cannot help but me moved with horror at the portion that will be the wicked’s inheritence throughout eternity, “Ten thousand woes are burning in the depths of that fiery cup…the wicked cannot refuse the terrible draught, for God himself pours it out for them and into them. Vain are their cries and entreaties…They must drink on and on for ever, even to the bottom where lie the lees of deep damnation; these they must suck up, and still must they drain the cup. Oh the anguish and the heart break of the day of wrath! Mark well, it is for all the wicked; all hell for all the ungodly; the dregs for the dregs; bitters for the bitter; wrath for the heirs of wrath. Righteousness is conspicuous, but over all terror spreads a tenfold night, cheerless, without a star. Oh happy they who drink the cup of godly sorrow, and the cup of salvation: these, though now despised, will then be envied by the very men who trod them under foot.”

Prayer
Oh most merciful and gracious Father, all honor and reverence are due Your Name, that You would redeem one such as me from the horrors of even sampling the cup that You have prepared for the wicked. All honor and glory are due to the Son, who drank this cup of poison in my stead. All praise and thanksgiving are due to the Spirit who sealed to me the righteousness of the Son that I might be exalted with Him forever. Father, keep always in my thoughts the act of love and mercy that is the spreading of your gospel, and may I never cease to give thanks that Your gospel was (and daily is) proclaimed to me. Through my Lord, my Saviour, and my Friend, Jesus Christ. Amen.

Leave a Reply

