God provides

You visit the earth and water it,
You greatly enrich it;
The river of God is full of water;
You provide their grain,
For so You have prepared it.
Psalm 65:9

I had never really considered the miracle of grain before, though I consume it frequently. A farmer prepares the ground and plants a tiny seed. What life-giving power, though, does the farmer posses? Without the Providence of God and His constant care for His creatures the planting of the seed would bring no increase. Spurgeon tells us, [a]s surely as the manna was prepared by God for the tribes (Ex. 16:15), so is grain made and sent by God for our daily use. What difference does it make whether we gather wheat or manna? What difference does it make if the first grows up and second falls down? God is as much present beneath as above. It is as great a wonder that food should rise out of the dust as that it should fall from the skies.

Prayer
Jehovah-Jireh (God, our Provider), Your good and perfect gifts sustain my body and my spirit. Grant that I might always look to You, and You alone, for the food that strengthens my body and the nourishment that establishes my spirit. Without Your Grace, both would perish. None of my efforts to provide sustenance for the body and enrichment for my spirit will succeed unless You provide the increase. I thank You that You have never failed to do so, and know that You have promised to provide all that I need for the future. All I have is of Grace. Grace. Grace! Through Christ, my Saviour. Amen.

Leave a Reply

