the olive tree

But I am like a green olive tree in the house of God; I will trust in the mercy of God forever and ever. Psalm 52:8

The olive tree, so a beloved professor of mine instructs, is a Biblical symbol of Israel (and therefore, the Church). Spurgeon writes: …[the] olive…draws oil out of the rock and, amid the drought, still lives and grows…bearing fruit…when all his enemies were withered like branches lopped from the tree.

Prayer:
Thank You, most gracious Father, for planting me firmly in my Rock, Jesus Christ. The oil that I draw from Him is Your Holy Spirit, who gives me life and strength to serve You. I pray that I might bear much fruit for You in this life, serving You all my days. In Christ I pray. Amen.

One thought on “the olive tree

Leave a Reply

