hope in a suffering day

2 Corinthians 4:13-14 (KJV)
We having the same spirit of faith, according as it is written, I believed, and therefore have I spoken; we also believe, and therefore speak; knowing that he which raised up the Lord Jesus shall raise up us also by Jesus, and shall present us with you.
Matthew Henry comments: The grace of faith is a sovereign and effectual antidote against fainting fits in troublesome times. The spirit of faith will go far to bear up the spirit of a man under his infirmities. As we receive help and encouragement from the good words and example of others, so we should be careful to give a good example to others…The hope of the resurrection will encourage us in a suffering day and set us above the fear of death: for what reason has a good Christian to fear death that dies in hope of a joyful resurrection?

Prayer
Gracious Father, thank You for the trials that send me back to the Cross and the Empty Tomb for hope. If this world was all You created me for, I would be a most miserable creature. Knowing that I have eternity in Your Presence makes the suffering days of this world bearable. I pray that Your Spirit would continue to uphold my spirit during troublesome times. Through Christ I pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

