forgotten finery

Can a virgin forget her ornaments,
Or a bride her attire?
Yet My people have forgotten Me
days without number.
~ Jeremiah 2:32

Matthew Henry warns, “Those who begin well, but do not persevere, will justly be upbraided with their hopeful and promising beginnings. Those who desert religion, commonly oppose it more than those who never knew it. For this they could have no excuse. God’s spiritual Israel must own their obligations to him for safe conduct through the wilderness of this world, so dangerous to the soul. Alas, that many, who once appeared devoted to the Lord, so live that their professions aggravate their crimes! Let us be careful that we do not lose in zeal and fervency, as we gain knowledge.”

O Father, let me not forget my ornaments.
O Bridegroom, let me not forget my attire.
You have clothed me in Your Righteousness, and ornamented my life with all the riches of glory in Christ Jesus. Let me never forget Your goodness to me. Keep my feet from following after other gods, fix my eyes on my Savior. Except by Your grace I would be as Israel, playing the harlot. Pour out Your mercy with Your grace, O Lord.

Leave a Reply

