lift up my soul

For to You, O Lord, I will lift up my soul.
Psalm 86:4b

Spurgeon likens the turning of the soul to God to flowers created to seek out the rays of the sun. I’ve seen many flowers and other botanicals strain the bounds of their containers and contort their bodies to capture as much of the sun’s life-giving power as possible. These were created to draw from the sun as I am created to draw from God. Even when my flesh is faint and discouraged, yes, when expressly so, my spirit strains and contorts to lift up to God. Grace it is, that as I lift my soul (however weary and heavy-laden it may be) to God, it is He that comes to me. Draw nigh to God, and He will draw nigh to you (James 4:8a). Of course, Spurgeon states this with far more eloquence than I: unto thee, O Lord, do I lift up my soul. As the heliotrope looks to the sun for its smile, so turn I my heart to thee. Thou art as the brazen serpent to my sick nature, and I lift up my soul’s eye to thee that I may live. I know that the nearer I am to thee the greater is my joy, therefore be pleased to draw me nearer while I am labouring to draw near. It is not easy to lift a soul at all; it needs a strong shoulder at the wheel when a heart sticks in the miry clay of despondency: it is less easy to lift a soul up to the Lord, for the height is great as well as the weight oppressive; but the Lord will take the will for the deed, and come in with a hand of almighty grace to raise his poor servant out of the earth and up to heaven.

Prayer
Whom have I in Heaven but Thee? And there is none on Earth I desire besides Thee! Thank You, gracious Father, that in Your grace and mercy You come to Your child. Even when all I can do is cry to You, groan, and weep, You condescend and come to me. Keep my feet firm in Your path this day, stumbling not, falling not. Because of Jesus. Amen.

Leave a Reply

