In God is my salvation and my glory: the rock of my strength, and my refuge, is in God (Psalm 62:7)

Spurgeon asks us to “[o]bserve how the psalmist brands his own initials upon every name which he rejoicingly gives to his God—my expectation, my rock, my salvation, my glory, my strength, my refuge; he is not content to know that the Lord is all these things; he acts [in] faith towards him, and lays claim to him under every character.” If we acknowledge that God is all these things yet do not hide behind the rock, lay claim to the strength, nor seek shelter in Him as our refuge, we expose ourselves to the trials and temptations of this world unnecessarily.

Prayer
Heavenly Father, You alone are my salvation. Let me not forget this when the trials and temptations of this world assail me; send me running headlong into Your protective and loving arms. When I put my confidence in the creature, rather than You, the Creator of all things, show me my folly. Through Christ I pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

