our All-Supplying Fountain

Prayer is designed by God to display His fullness and our need. Prayer glorifies God because it puts us in the position of the thirsty and God in the position of the All-Supplying Fountain [some divinity capitalizations are blog author’s]. From What Jesus Demands from the World, John Piper

Reflecting on the above quote, and the following from W.S. Bowden, “Prayer is weakness leaning on omnipotence,” I am no longer ashamed to bring a long list of requests to my Heavenly Father, as is often the case with my prayers. I am His child and He instructs me to come to Him when I am in need and to pray for the needs of others as well. I continue to glorify Him when I trust His wisdom in answering my petitions. We see that earthly fathers, if they are godly and loving, are glad that their children come to them for help when they are in need. It is a disappointment to those same fathers, when they are ready and able to give help, if their children turn to others for succor and aid. Should we cause our heavenly Father grief by turning to man when He is “able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think” (Ephesians 3:20)?

Leave a Reply

