fear with faith

Whenever I am afraid, I will trust in You…In God I have put my trust; I will not fear… (Psalm 56:3,4)

In Spurgeon’s commentary (Treasury of David) on these verses, he tells us that the psalmist, David, does not claim that he was never afraid. Spurgeon describes David as intelligent, [seeing] his imminent peril and tells us that David was afraid. Spurgeon then turns his thoughts towards us (including himself) and correctly identifies our condition: We are human, and therefore we are liable to be overthrown. We are feeble, and therefore we are unable to prevent it. We are sinful, and therefore we deserve it. And for all these reasons, we are afraid.

Spurgeon identifies a perplexing condition that most everyone has experienced, if they are being honest, at one time or another. He states that David feared, but that fear did not fill all of his mind, for [David] adds, “I will trust in You.” It is possible for fear and faith to occumpy the mind simultaneously…We are often in twilight, where light and darkness are both present, and it is hard to tell which predominates. It is a blessed fear which drives us to trust. Unregenerate fear drives from God; gracious fear [God-given fear sent as a warning] drives us to Him…to rely on God during very personally troubling times is the conquering faith of God’s elect [those to whom He gives faith and adopts as His own]. Spurgeon concludes his commentary on these verses with an exhortation to those of us who find ourselves fearful. Whether the fear arises from without or within, from past, present, or future, from earth or heaven, from men or devils, if we maintain faith we will soon recover courage.

Prayer
El-Elyon (the Lord Most High), far above all earthly and heavenly powers I have You as my protector. What can man do to me? As I walk through this world with dangers filled, I will put my trust in You. I pray that where my faith is weak You would strengthen it; when my eyes are fixed on my troubles here, I pray that You would take my face in Your hands and turn it towards You once again. I thank You, Abba Father, that You have shown me in Your word that You are my Shepherd. What comfort there is in knowing that You promise not only to protect me from danger but to lead me in Your paths of righteousness. Grant these blessings to me for Jesus’ sake, for it is in His Name that I pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

